Categories of Ministers

We have seven categories of ministers, based on the licenses we issue.

1. Lay ministers. These are laypersons who don’t intend to become “professional” ministers.

2. Local church ministers. The starting point for professional ministers.

3. National conference ministers. They are working on the requirements for ordination.

4. Specialized ministers. They serve on staff in a specific area, like youth, music, etc.

5. Provisional ministers. This is an accommodation for specific situations, such as a person transferring from another denomination.

6. Ordained elders. The highest level. Only ordained ministers can be bishop or serve in certain other ways.

7. Ordained chaplains. Professional chaplains in hospitals, the military, and other settings.